Skip to main content

AMST208 Dis/ability Studies: Home

Covers Swem Library resources on the evolution of the concept of disability in America

Welcome

This guide provides an overview of library resources pertinent to the research topics of AMST 208, Introduction to Disability Studies. It features both primary and secondary resources from the stacks, from databases and from the Special Collections Research Center. 

The resources introduced here are almost exclusively housed in Swem Library or accessible through one of our databases. But we also included links to two full-text searchable databases on Confederate pension and disability records that have been digitized by the Library of Virginia (see Government Documents Tab).

The following Swem research guide might also be of help:  Medicine This guide provides an overview of material in the Special Collections Research Center in the Earl Gregg Swem Library related to medicine. Tabs lke "slavery" and hospitals" are most likely to have relevant sources.

We Want To Help You!

CONTACT INFO


Special Collections Research Center

Email: spcoll@wm.edu

Phone: (757) 221-3090

Mailing Address:
Special Collections Research Center
College of William and Mary
Earl Gregg Swem Library
P.O. Box 8794
Williamsburg, VA 23187-8794

Access Tools

The Special Collections Research Center access tools are available to guide you in finding materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with the staff member on duty for guidance or contact us via email or phone.