Sociology: Advanced Research Guide

In addition to looking through sources such as magazines, newspapers, and television clips for advertisements, here are some good resources:

• iSpot.TV -- click on Browse TV Ads and use left menu to choose a category.
• AdForum's Creative Work webpage -- search for Brand, Country, Keyword, etc.
• Advertising Self-Regulatory Council (ASRC)-- includes reports and case studies by the National Advertising Division (NAD), Children's Advertising Review Unit (CARU), National Advertising Review Board (NARB), Electronic Retailing Self-Regulation Program (ERSP), and the Accountability Program.  For full-text access to some of the case studies, contact Research Librarian Mary Molineux at msmoli@wm.edu or 757-221-3076.
   
• AdViews A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials -- part of the Internet Archive website.  Thousands of television commercials.
   
• Ad*Access -- images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955

• Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 -- 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States

• ROAD:  Resource of Outdoor Advertising Descriptions --  through Duke University's website, a "portal of more than 30,000 images of outdoor advertisements..."

• Advertising Age's "The Advertising Century" Top 100 Campaigns
   
• Advertising Age's "The Advertising Century" History

• AdFlip -- a commercial site, but many ads can be viewed by decade and year. Claims to be "the world's largest archive of classic print ads."
   
• Ad Council's "The Classics" Television Ad Campaigns
   
• Library of Congress -- Advertising Collections