Research Guides: Psychological Sciences: BOOKS, ETC.

Books at W&M

Library Catalog
A database that lists items owned at the College of William & Mary's libraries (Swem, Law, and branch libraries), plus the Colonial Williamsburg Rockefeller Library and Richard Bland College Library in Petersburg, Virginia (an affiliate of W&M). Includes thousands of electronic books, as well.

APA PsycInfo (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from 2,500+ psychology journals, plus books, dissertations, and other sources. Produced by the American Psychological Association. Coverage: 1600s-present.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Psychiatry and related disciplines. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM),the DSM Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, the DSM cases, journal articles, and textbooks. Coverage: Current.

Books at Other Libraries

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching; special strength in publications and archives from developing nations. Coverage: Varies by title.

Dissertations & Conference Papers

Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.
PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to papers presented at conferences worldwide. Coverage: 1993-present.
ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received at The British Library Document Supply Centre. Citations to the papers presented. Coverage: 1993-present.

Guides to Conducting Psychological Research

For the most recent guides, search our Library Catalog using one of these search strategies:

psychology AND research

psychology AND research AND methodology

Example titles are:

Nezlek, John B. (John Bruce), 1952-

Multilevel modeling for social and personality psychology.

London: SAGE, 2011.

SWEM CALL NUMBER

BF39 .N49 2011

Bakeman, Roger.

Sequential analysis and observational methods for the behavioral sciences [electronic resource]. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2011.

SWEM CALL NUMBER

BF76.5 .B354 2011 eb

Frost, Nollaig.

Qualitative research methods In psychology [electronic resource] : combining core approaches.

Maidenhead: McGraw-Hill, 2011.

SWEM CALL NUMBER

BF76.5 .F76 2011 eb

Qualitative strategies for ethnocultural research /edited by Donna K. Nagata, Laura Kohn-Wood, and Lisa A. Suzuki. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2012.

SWEM CALL NUMBER

BF76.5 .Q355 2012

Advanced methods for conducting online behavioral research / edited by Samuel D. Gosling, John A. Johnson. Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association, c2010.

SWEM CALL NUMBER

BF76.6 .I57 A38 2010

Advanced methods for conducting online behavioral research [electronic resource] / edited by Samuel D. Gosling, John A. Johnson. Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association, c2010.

SWEM CALL NUMBER

BF76.6 .I57 A38 2010 INTERNET

Rudman, Laurie A.

Implicit measures for social and personality psychology.

Los Angeles, Calif.; London : SAGE, 2011.

SWEM CALL NUMBER

HM1019 .R83 2011