Skip to main content

HIST242/EURS290 Europe, 1914-1945 - Special Collections Resources: Home

Introduction to the SCRC's Resources for HIST242, Europe 1914-1945

This Subject Guide contains links to the primary resource materials shown in during the class visit to Special Collections on 9/24/2013.

 The list of resources in this guide is not comprehensive but merely a selection.    The Special Collections Research Center has a variety of materials in its Manuscript, University Archives and Rare Books sections relating to Europe, 1914-1945. Some of those manuscript collections deal broadly with the U.S. experience during the war, and a few selected items illustrate a European perspective.  The Rare Book collection contains volumes predominatly in English, German and French related to the topic and timeframe of your class. 

Other research guides that might be of use to you are Armed Conflicts & the Military in the Special Collections Research Center, which contain sections for WWi and WWII,  and also World War II Resources in the Special Collections Research Center well as HIST384 Germany since 1918.

Please keep in mind that the general collections of Swem Library also support research in this subject area, including newspapers, magazines, government documents, published memoirs, etc.

If you get stuck along the way, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here to help. Just click the HELP tab at the top of any page in this guide to get contact information for Special Collections Research Center staff.

Swem Library has created other guides that will be of general interest to researchers, including a Research Paper Writing and Citation GuidePrimary Sources Guide, and Copyright Guide.

If you are still having problems finding information, please email Ute Schechter at uxsche@wm.edu  or Special Collections  at spcoll@wm.edu or visit us to speak to one of the archivists.

Best of luck with your research!

 

 

 

Access Tools

Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with the staff member on duty for guidance.

Search SCRC Collections Database

SCRC Collections Database


 




Subject Guide

Ute Schechter's picture
Ute Schechter
Contact:
757-221-7626